Ice Sketching

I must have walked by hundreds of frozen puddles here on the farm and never really stopped to take a look at the intricate patterns and designs on the surface ice . (They take  their shape from the pine tags, leaves and twigs on the bottom.)   I first noticed them  while hiking to the Farm Wetlands last week and took a couple of shots of them.  I posted one on my flickr site and there was a fair amount of interest,   enough to make me start wondering why in the world I  had  not noticed this “Jack Frost Art” before and what made me notice it now.

I can’t answer the first part of the question except to say….”Duh”,   but I realized what had made me take notice now.  It was a shot of some etched glass panels in the First Class Lounge aboard the Liner United States.  I have been plowing through scores of slides from an assignment aboard the great ship  in the early 70’s. (An Article for Sea Classics Magazine).   It had  just been mothballed at Norfolk International Terminals and the Federal Maritime Administration had given me permission to roam the floating city from stem to stern and top to bottom.  I recall having taken upwards of 25 rolls of ektachrome with me.  The assignment itself is probably worth a couple of blogs and I’ll get to that down the road.  As for the glass panels,  I recall being enthralled with the story of passengers being challenged to find the mermaid in one of  the panels.  Those that did, were treated to a drink courtesy of US Lines. 

I digress.   Suffice to say the image of those glass panels was embedded in my feeble brain and I seem to have “googled” up the memory when I saw those frozen puddles on the trail to the wetlands.   Anyway, that’s my explanation and even if it’s not accurate it ought to be.

Later, after having arrived at the wetlands,  I found more examples of  “Jack Frost Art”.    This shot on the Beaver Pond has a more modern flair to it.  The image brings to mind shards of glass floating on the water.

Back to those glass panels on the United States.  The Ship was sold in the 80’s and all the fittings were Auctioned off.   Jerri and I made it a point to attend while enroute to a couple of weeks on the Outer Banks.   I had wanted to bid on one of the panels but alas they were all gone by the time we arrived.   We contented ourselves with the purchase of a heavy silver bread tray and a metal sign reading “First Class Deck”.  It hangs now in my Great Room.  It looks great, but one of those glass panels would look better.

See you next time on most of this same blog

Leave a Reply

