A Red Snowfall!

It looked more like bad dandruff than snow but what little there was,   less than inch for sure,  stuck on the ground.  Enough to give everything a whitewashed look.  More importantly from my own point of  view,  it made the Cardinals hunker down in the River Birch Tree near my makeshift bird blind,  well in range of my 70-300mm VR lens.   It was also the first time I had used my new SLIK tripod which I gave myself for Christmas.  I thought the results were quite good.  In fact, just about every shot was a keeper. This male was just about motionless for the longest time.  I was able to focus right in on his eye.

The snow began to pick up.  Big Flakes.  Usually a signal that the snowfall is petering out.  As if right on cue, a female fluttered in.

Then a quick jump to a branch right in front of the male.   It made for a great “twofer”.

There were other birds, of course: Chickadees, Dark Eyed Junkos, Sparrows, House Finches etc…..but its the Northern Cardinal that really shouts when its snowing.  Their coloring; the males bright crimson red and the female’s orange/red tinged brown is nothing short of spectacular.  After all these years of photographing them, you’d think I’d have enough shots of them.  Ah….like so many things,  one can never have enough.

A postscript to my previous post:  I found homeowners insurance with another company, one which did not ask for rates above that approved by the state of North Carolina.   How much did I save?  More than 600 dollars.  It pays to shop around.

See you soon on most of this same blog.

One thought on “A Red Snowfall!

  1. What a joy to view those cardinals with the light snow fall…Pure bliss…Your bird blind must work very well, you were able to get some fine shots for sure…

    ps With that $600 savings you might be able to get another Christmas present! 🙂 Good for you!

Leave a Reply

