North Carolina Museum of Art

It’s one of those places that doesn’t require a sign.  Once you see Roxy Paine’s giant stainless steel tree structure (It‘s titled “Askew“ , You know exactly where you are.

Saying its impressive seems hollow.   Designed by Architect Thomas Phifer and Partners of New York,  The West Building of the North Carolina Museum of Art is 127 thousand, light drenched square feet.  The clean lines brought to mind Hugh Newell Jacobson’s Residential Designs which I have always loved.  Maybe in another life I‘ll live in one. I could live here.

The permanent collection is housed in the West building so still photography is permitted with the usual caveats: for personal, noncommercial use only.  No tripods.  Photography of Exhibitions (The East Building) is not permitted.   Most of my shots were taken in the Rodin Court.  The combination of the sculpture, incredible light, and visitors milling around brought regrets I had not brought my Nikon FM and a Roll of Tri X.  I still think film gets black and white better than digital.

Nothing gets the color like the human eye.   10 minutes in front of  Georgia Okeefe’s “Cebolla Church” wasn‘t long enough.  It would be impossible to overdose on the color and light in that painting. And there are the gray hues in Andrew Wyeth’s “Weatherside”.   I’d never seen this one in person.

I really didn’t take that many pictures.  I’m simply not good enough to do the art justice.  I was reading the other day about a pro who works at the Chicago Institute of Art full time photographing the collection there.  What a dream job huh?    I did take a few shots of some of the more modern work.  This of one of the “Related People” hanging just outside of the restaurant. And the wall of heads was an eye grabber.    I forget the title.
I was right pleased with this shot of the ceramic vase “Neck Amphora” which dates from 530-520 BCE.  The date kinda gives you pause doesn’t it.

Heading home,  it struck me that I had not been in an art museum since visiting the Chrysler in Norfolk.  Quite a few years ago.  My sister remarked to me that one needs to get out and see the masters every so often.  “Keeps you sharp”, she said.   I was amazed at how dazzled I was  which I suppose speaks to how stale my eyes had become.  I spent about four hours at the NCMA, not nearly enough time to see everything.  But you know, it’s not about going back just to see what I didn’t see.  It’s about going back to see everything again, for the first time.   Back soon on  most of this same blog.

One thought on “North Carolina Museum of Art

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. Seeing the Masters can be life changing. Their art really does make a difference in your life. It is amazing. I’ve been to the Getty Museum and felt that way, too. Beautiful blog..Thank you!

Leave a Reply

