The Ubiquitous Petunia

I wish I was more of a fan of Petunias but I’m not.  I think the reason is, there are so many of them.   Bazillions….In pots, flats, hanging baskets, bouquets…on decks, patios, porches.     I cannot walk around the farm without running into them.  Municipalities all over Eastern North Carolina buy them by the truckload to beautify sidewalks and so on.   I even ran into whiskey barrels filled with them at a local fish market.    It’s easy to see why they are so popular.  They’re cheap, come in a variety of colors  and are amazingly drought tolerant.  They’re also quite photogenic I think.   So what’s not to like?   Familiarity breeds contempt even in the flower world I suppose.  Obviously I need to have an attitude adjustment.

 

See you next time on most of this same blog.

One thought on “The Ubiquitous Petunia

Leave a Reply

