A Bright Eyed, Dark Eyed Junco

This was my first shot with a new Nikon D7000.   Shot in RAW and converted to a jpeg in Adobe Camera RAW, I did a bit of sharpening but did not mess with the exposure.  That impressed me because my previous shots of this bird have required a tweakor two  to bring out that dark eye.  Not so with the D7000.  I had read where the D7000 has the best resolution of any Nikon south of the D3X which costs thousands more.   I was skeptical.  I got religion with this shot.  I also didn’t think it was possible to improve upon the D90’s user friendly layout.  The D7000 does.  The relocation of the Autofocus mode switch to the front side of the camera is a big plus in facilitating on the fly changes in focus mode.  The ability to quickly store and recall customized shooting settings is another huge improvement.  So the D7000 now assumes the lead camera role in my bag.  For Dark Eyed Juncos, its a no brainer.  See you next time on most of this same blog.

2 thoughts on “A Bright Eyed, Dark Eyed Junco

Leave a Reply

