Christmas Dawn

It’s become a ritual with me on Christmas Morning.  I pack up my cameras, film and digital, pile into my truck and head for the high field here on the farm,  long before the kids awaken to see what Santa brought.  My Christmas present is to shoot the dawn.  I’ve been doing it for years and every one without exception  has been absolutely spectacular.  This year was no different.     This morning I arrived about 6:35 which gave me about ten minutes to get my tripods set up and my cameras ready.  I used a Nikon D90 with a 10-20mm wide angle lens and a Nikon F100 with a 28mm wide angle.   The F100 was loaded with Fujichrome Velvia 100F Professional Slide Film.   Expensive but if you love the film look,  its worth it.   I know, film!   I love digital photography and 99 percent of everything I do now is digital but for special shots like this,  I always make sure to shoot a few frames of slide film.  Old habits die hard.  Anyway,  The digital result is above.  The shot is unmessed around with.  This is what I saw.  I told my Minister once that I feel closer to my maker at Sunrise on the farm than anywhere else.  This morning just reinforced that belief.    See you next time on most of this same blog.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Dawn

  1. It is wonderful how we have special rituals on special days. Thank you for sharing this tradition with us. Your photo is a delight and joy to see! It kind of puts everything in perspective to see such a sunrise…..Thank you!

Leave a Reply

