Frustrated Painters!

My late sister Barbara Harding Sant, we all called her BB, made her living as a painter:  watercolor, oil, acrylic, pen and ink, pastels and early on even woodcuts.   She told  me once that photographers are just frustrated painters.   I think that’s true.  I also think that some of the best natural photographers around are also very good painters.  Art Wolfe immediately comes to mind.  And BB was herself an excellent photographer.   I picked up a lot from my sister: Composition, perspective, color and using light….those sorts of things, but the actual technique of painting escaped me.   After hours of instruction one day at her home,  I managed to come up with something that remotely resembled a tree.   Sort of.   But something must have rubbed off because when I am out with the camera, I see paintings everywhere.

When I come up on a scene like this, I alway ask myself if it would be worth painting.   So yeah, I’m a frustrated painter.   I hope that makes me a better photographer.   Thanks BB.

A final note.  There’s a show of my sister’s work now on display in our hometown of Emporia, Virginia.  At the City Municipal Building on Main Street.   If you’re in the area, take a look.  See you next time on most of this same blog.

One thought on “Frustrated Painters!

  1. While in Reno last month, I picked up a free magazine at a photo shop called,” Photomedia”. In the magazine there was an article about just what you are saying. Steve McCurry was a a featured photographer and he memtioned how important it is to study the great artists and photographers, and their art…He feels that there is no better way to spend your time and improve your photography…How fortunate you are to have had a artistic sister and through your photography, you are continuing part of her work, sharing the beauty with your media…photography!

Leave a Reply

