A Cure for the Winter Blahs

It’s quite easy to come down with the winter blahs.   Winter carries with it a certain isolation.  It’s almost as though ones senses become semi-comatose, teased now and then by a false spring of early buds and blooms only to be dashed by another hard freeze.   For me, the sameness of the days requires a daily cure.   A three mile walk around the farm.    It always proves to be a powerful reminder of the somber elegance of the season. 

It’s one of the great benefits of photography.  One sees things others take for granted.  For me, every turn on my daily trek results in a mental note to come back with my camera as happened with the above shot.   I see this scene every day I take my walk but on this day, I saw it again for the first time.   See you next time on most of this same blog.

2 thoughts on “A Cure for the Winter Blahs

  1. To see something everyday and then to see it for the first time, that is magical. I think that is why I love photograph as well. Each time you look through that lens, it is for the first time. Words well said, John.

    Your image is delightful.

Leave a Reply

