Handicapping Butterflies.

It wasn’t a deliberate  attempt to handicap the endeavor but in retrospect it seemed that way.  In other words, I could have made it much easier on myself.    The Tiger Swallowtail was doing what they do. Flying High in the bright sunshine,  darting around red blooms on a huge Formosa Azalea.   I was following him around  doing what I always try to do: come up with a unique perspective.  I fired off 10 shots of this composition using my D7k, handheld (No Tripod)  with a 18-200mm lens.

Back at the computer,  I was dismayed to see one shot after another pop up fuzzy.   Finally, a sharp take.  It was the last shot.    I was lucky but I wondered why the previous nine shots were so far out of focus?   The  18-200 is a heavy lens but the Vibration Control Circuitry really reduces the impact  of camera shake particularly at f/8 which was my stop.    I went back to my bag to check the lens.  Sure Enough, the Vibration Reduction Switch was “Off”!  It made the outing akin to trying to catch a three pound blue with one pound test line.  Let me hasten to add that I don’t view photography as a sporting event.   Anyway, It occurred to me what had happened.  I had been using the same setup with a tripod the day before which  necessitates cutting off Vibration Control.  Not doing so makes the feature work against itself which is to say it can produce movement.   Live and learn.  Thanks for the look.  See you next time on most of this same site.

One thought on “Handicapping Butterflies.

  1. Gee, that yellow butterfly stands out on the red azalea! Beautiful…

    I love the way you scientifically examine your photos and find out “why”the result are what they are….I wondered why they say to turn off the vibration control when on a tripod…That always made no sense to me…maybe that is why I’m not satisfied with some of my photos…Thank you again for the info…I’ll be turning it off on the tripod now…:)

Leave a Reply

