Pride Of Mobile

A Late Season Bloomer, The Pride of Mobile Azaleas here are also the oldest Azaleas on the Farm.   They were originally planted more than 60 years ago and are still probably the most widely planted Azaleas in the Southern United States.  Watermelon Red with three inch flowers and dark green foliage, they grow pretty much upright and reach heights of 8 to 10 feet with a spread of up 15 feet. The color is my absolutely favorite and I’m sure I photograph them more than anything else grown here with the possible exception of Sunflowers.

Nikon D7000, Nikon 18-200mm lens at 170mm, f/25, 1/25th second, Spot Metering, Manual Program, RAW Image converted to JPEG in Elements 10.

See you next time on most of this same site.

2 thoughts on “Pride Of Mobile

  1. Gee, that is pretty….Thank you for the info….I was surprised at the high f stop…..very interesting….I usually have a f stop of 5.6 for my flower images….I might try that higher f stop on occassion….We are on the road again with limited internet service, but your flower photo came through beautifully. It is a showstopper..very nice work!

  2. True…I will usually blur out the background on flower shots which dictates a large stop but I wasn’t looking to do that here…..I rather like the green foliage…..so I cranked it up or down as the case may be….to f25.

Leave a Reply

