Past and Prologue

picasabackground-2

We always leave the last crop of  Sunflowers for the wildlife so the stalks survive on into the Winter.   Makes for a rather compelling sunrise I think.

I’ve been AWOL for most of this week as both my wife and I recover from some nasty health issues.  She is recovering from a violent attack of migraineous vertigo complicated by spikes in blood pressure.  I was slammed with sudden hearing loss in one ear apparently triggered by a bad infection in the middle ear.  The specter of a stroke loomed large in her case but a battery of tests have ruled that out.    I seem to have recovered some high frequency hearing in my affected ear thanks to a regimen of steroids but full recovery is doubtful.   Frankly I’m surprised my left ear held out as long as it did:   Too many Fender Bass Runs in my rock band days and 40 plus years of headphones in radio   My other ear is normal.   As Bob Dylan said, “If I had known I was going to be around this long, I would have taken better care of myself.”   But, life is what it is. You have to accept it because there is no other choice.     Thanks for the visit and have a great evening.

3 thoughts on “Past and Prologue

  1. John.

    Lovely shot – I was fascinated by the fields of dead sunflowers iin France – I’d never seen them before. Lovely in their own way.

    Very sorry to hear of the helalth issues. Here’s sincerely hoping you will both be fit as fiddles posthaste!

    Chris

  2. John, I’m glad that you are taking care of the health issues the best you can. Please stay on top of it and seek the best of medical care. We had serious issues last year, but got through them, too. It is part of it, I’m afraid…

    Your image is fantastic. Your images are a blessing to all that are able to view them…delightful and inspirational as well….

    I hope to get some good shots this next week….: Can hardly wait…

  3. Hi, John, Sorry to hear about your health issues. Hope you have good medical support. Sounds like you do, and I wish you all well. We had big medical issues last year but got through it OK. Not easy at times…

    Your image is outstanding…and a delight to see…It is nice to share the sunflower seeds with the wildlife. How fun is that!

Leave a Reply

