Photo Of The Day: The Snow Flake

birds.096.edited_edited-1Of all the pictures I took of the recent Winter Snow Blast, and I took a lot, this is my favorite.  For starters, its a little male House Finch , a bird I had not seen on the farm in quite a while.  But suddenly, there he was along with his mate.  I zeroed in on him with my 300mm telephoto lens from my bird blind nearby.  He looked around a bit then he started looking up and he kept looking up.  My first thought was he was watching the snow coming down but then it dawned on me he appeared to be trying to get a look at the snowflake that had stuck on his head just above his beak.  He shook his head several times and looked back up  but the flake was still there. That’s when I snapped this picture.    Finally he seemed to accept the fact that the flake was not going away.  He darted to the ground below the River Birch Tree where I had spread some seed then flew back to his perch.  The flake was still there.  One of the little moments that makes wildlife photography so worthwhile.  Thanks for the look.  Have a Great Valentine’s Day, A Great Weekend and a Great Evening.

Nikon D7100/ Nikon 70-300mm lens

3 thoughts on “Photo Of The Day: The Snow Flake

Leave a Reply

