Photo Of The Day: A Van Gogh In Early Light

610.edited_edited-1-1

The breeze off the ocean is always marvelous here but it does create problems for me in early morning photography and such was the case this morning.   Keeping things sharp has been a challenge in situations like this so I changed my ways,  ditching Aperture Priority in favor of  Shutter Priority  and setting my shutter speed at 1/320. Its a good setting to use when in windy situations and at times when things are moving about like these sunflowers were doing this morning. The fast shutter freezes the action and keeps things quite sharp.  Of course in low light which is the norm in early morning shooting,  I find myself upping the ISO quite liberally sometimes.  This one came in at ISO 400 but occasionally, I’ve upped it to 800 with good results meaning very little if any noise.  A reminder of how far cameras have come in limiting noise.   My Nikon full framers allow me to set a shutter speed limit which helps a lot when one is preoccupied with the shot.  Might try it if you find yourself in similar situations.  It sure works for me.   Cheers everybody and have a great evening.

Nikon D600, 18-35mm lens.

2 thoughts on “Photo Of The Day: A Van Gogh In Early Light

  1. Thank you for the info. You have taught me a lot about photography with your blog and beautiful images…I appreciate it. I just got my 70D Canon today! Am looking forward to trying it out but it is raining today…So, I will wait…:)

Leave a Reply

