Photo Of The Day: White Tide

_DSC7950_edited-4-1Dawn breaks over one of the cotton fields here.  This was a good year for cotton in coastal North Carolina thanks to the unusually wet weather over the summer and the heat.

I shot this with a Nikon D800E Camera using a 24-120 f/4 lens.  The D800E has jaw dropping resolution thanks to its 36 mp sensor and the disablement of a low pass filter which increases sharpness measurably. I was blown away by the detail in the low light of the early morning.  As with most things electronic these days, the D800E has already been replaced by the next big thin, the D810,  but most of the improvements are in the video side of the camera which I never use so I suspect the D800E will be in my bag for a long time to come.

A word about the ads WordPress is now selling and plastering on individual blogs.  I don’t mind them putting static ads on my site but I think video ads are obtrusive and detract from the blog which I’m sure is exactly the idea.  Anyway, it does not sit well with me.  I’m going to look into creating my own site and getting rid of WordPress and its ads.  If I move on, I will give lots of notice and give all of you who are nice enough to drop by,  my forwarding address.

 

Thanks for the visit

2 thoughts on “Photo Of The Day: White Tide

  1. Low light photography has always been a challenge for me. Your Nikon D800E looks like a real helpful tool, but your eye is unreal. Your photography is outstanding and looks like that camera is really a gem. Nice combo, John.

  2. Surreal and lovely. I’m happy to see this. I was in North Carolina for the very first time, in early autumn 2012. Seeing the cotton fields on the drive back from the Outer Banks to Apex was a great surprise, as I hadn’t done much research and hadn’t put 2 & 2 together to realize that NC had cotton crops. What a treat. Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

