Photo Of The Day: Back to the Roots

Getty Images 7/7/2014 Blogged June 28, 2015

In my advancing years, I am now 70,  I have found myself  rediscovering the past.  I suppose that’s because the past is a bit clearer in my aging eyes than the future. Included in this retrogression, is a renewed interest in black and white photography.  I’ve had momentary monochrome lapses from time to time over the years, shooting up rolls of Tri-X (yes it is still sold and processed) with my trusty Nikon F-3 and F-100 cameras and I was pleased I still had the knack of spotting nuanced tones and reading light which is critical in black and white work.

Lately,  I’ve been processing more and more of my coastal and rural landscapes in Monochrome with my D800E and D600 cameras.  This past week, I put about a dozen on my web site and was amazed at the interest.  The shot above was taken with my D600 using a 18-35mm lens along the barrier dunes on the Outer Banks of NC.  I think I’m on to something. Again.  Thanks for the look and the read.  See you next time.

One thought on “Photo Of The Day: Back to the Roots

  1. Yes, I think you are on to something wonderful….You have perfected the color for sure. You might enjoy check out some of Clyde Butchers work. He is a wonderful black and white photographer in Florida. http://clydebutcher.com/ He has a way with black and white photography….I look forward to seeing more of your black and white images when you want to share…How fun is this!

Leave a Reply

