Photo Of The Day: Return Engagement

obx14.0052.edited_edited-1-002

Sunrise along the Southern Outer Banks.

Ever wonder just how many times you have snapped the shutter on your camera? If you shoot in the jpeg format, each picture you shoot has the total number of  shutter activations included in the exif data that accompanies each picture.  Scroll down toward the bottom of the list and you will see it.   I shoot in the RAW format and when I convert it to jpeg for printing or posting, it’s not included in the exif data.  Yesterday I snapped one jpeg picture on each camera so I could find out just where I was shutter-wise.   My trusty D600 led the pack with more than 22,000 shutter snaps.  The D800e had only just over above 6 thousand and the D7100 just over 12 thousand.  In truth the D600 really only has about 12-15 thousand snaps on it.  The camera had a bug in the shutter that splattered little drops of oil on the sensor.  Nikon recalled it and installed a brand new, improved shutter which essentially made the D600 a D610.  What they didn’t do is rotate the number of shutter snaps back to 0 so,  the exif data shows 22 thousand plus. I doubt I ever swap it in on a newer model.  The shutter is tested to 150,000 activations.  I’m now 70.  I suspect I’ll wear out before the shutter does.

Have a great Sunday.  See you next time.

One thought on “Photo Of The Day: Return Engagement

Leave a Reply

