Photo Of The Day: Graceful Sea

The Graceful Sea   Posted to Flickr November 25, 2015

Dawn breaks over the Atlantic at Southern Shores, North Carolina on the Outer Banks.

After umpteen years of using Google’s free photo organizer,  Picasa and I are about to part company.  I recently “upgraded” from Picasa 3.1 to 3.9 and suddenly, with one click, the Picasa data base is corrupted.  Now instead of thumbnails of my thousands of photos,  I get Picasa’s default icon — three or four colored balls of various sizes.  I have tried all of the suggested fixes. Nothing worked. From I read on the net, this is not an unusual experience with 3.9.  So, Picasa is walking the plank. It’s free so I really can’t make too much of a fuss. It worked okay for years but it’s time to move on.

I’ve  toyed with taking the plunge to Adobe’s Lightroom and while I hate guilt by association,  Adobe’s Photoshop Elements Software which I use to convert my raw images and process my work, has never been on warm on fuzzy terms with my computer.  An Adobe engineer spent hours trying to load Elements 13 on my Windows 7 machine and finally gave up in frustration.  My rig runs 16 gb RAM and that folks is a lot of random memory but I constantly get error messages from Elements telling me there is not enough RAM followed by the usual crashes and stalls and lock ups. Bottom line is I’m not willing to take a 150 dollar bet on Lightroom doing any better.

So….after hours and hours of comparisons and reviews and so forth, I’ve decided to take a whirl with Corel’s Paintshop Pro 8X. If the hype lives up to my experience with it, I’ll be beyond thrilled.  The cost was less than 50 bucks at Amazon.    If any of you have any experience with it, please weigh in.  In the meantime, stay tuned.

See you next time.

4 thoughts on “Photo Of The Day: Graceful Sea

  1. Thank you for the information! How frustrating for you. My computer gets overloaded with all the images on Lightroom and Elements, so I have purchases external hard drives to save my images on. Of course one hard drive crashed. The frustration is ongoing but I have heard that “The Cloud” is good as well. Please give us a follow up with
    your new experience with Paintshop 8x.

  2. Computers – what a love/hate relationship we have with them. I have LR on my Windows 7 machine (I-7 processor) and it runs pretty good. I still use the perpetual software vs. the cloud. It is a memory hog. I know I will have to upgrade my system in a year or 2 because this one is form 2009 and I am dreading that. Hope you enjoy your new software.

Leave a Reply

